Simple Living Pledge


I found the simple living pledge at Kanelstrand: Simple Living for Human Beings  and think it’s a fantastic idea!  I’m mired in a house full of unnecessary stuff and it’s choking the life & spirit right out of me.  Honestly,  I had started a post titled Drowning in Success, which was based on my accumulation o’ crap.  No I’m not a hoarder but it’s not for lack of desire….  Here’s the information on the simple living pledge.  Check out the link above to take the pledge yourself!

What is Simple Living?
  • Identifying what is most important for you and eliminating everything else.
  • Freeing up time for doing what inspires you and being with the people you love.
  • Decluttering your mind, your everyday life and your virtual life.
  • Single-tasking and learning to diminish stress.
  • Striving to live frugally by wanting less and buying only what is necessary.
  • Slowing down and being actively present in the moment.
  • Living a healthy life, including cleaning your home and your body, eating, exercising and thinking.
  • Striving to be green and sustainable as much as your surroundings allow.
  • Enjoying the simple pleasures of life.
  • Simplifying your goals, tasks and expectations.
What is the Simple Living Pledge?
This is a solemn and personal promise to live a simple life in a complicated world. Simple living is the conscious act of cleaning your mind and surroundings of clutter and filling the space with the things that you value. After spending years entangled in stress, multitasking and clutter, 3 years ago my family started a conscious simplifying process in all aspects of life and now I am the first to sign the Simple Living Pledge.
Why take the pledge?
By taking the pledge you are making a conscious decision to keep your sanity in a modern life, where everyone is screaming the opposite. It has long been known that after you make up your mind, the next step to fulfilling a wish is to write it down. Signing your name and pasting the badge on your blog/website is what will serve as a reminder to slow down, relax and look for the simple truths in life even when you are tempted to forget and get back to normal. Let simple be your new normal!
Who can take the pledge?

Anyone – regardless of age, nationality or language. You don’t need to have a blog or website to sign the pledge. The only thing you need is willingness to live a better, simpler life.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. phylor
    May 20, 2012 @ 20:34:21

    What a great idea! I did buy my yearly ball cap in December — it says “live simply” and now I have something more substantial to go with it than my head!

    Reply

    • Autoimmune Maven
      May 20, 2012 @ 22:10:21

      I do better when I have a thought-out plan. Thank goodness I’ve found others who have done all of the thinking & all I have to do is learn from what they’ve done! Getting rid of excess “crap” has really helped me feel better & I’ve passed it on where it will be used/appreciated. Feels great! Maybe I should get a hat…..

      Reply

  2. abcsofra
    May 12, 2012 @ 20:34:40

    I have always tried to live simply. I find that turning off the TV helps me ALOT! Just that one thing can turn down the noise in my life and it helps me to enjoy my surroundings and keep all that “noise” out of my life. And I so agree how clutter can drag us down. Living with a chronic illness for 13 years now I have learned to live decluttered. Less for me to clean, move, dust, etc. etc. And when things do get somewhat cluttered, I find that I must declutter or I get stressed over time.

    Reply

    • Autoimmune Maven
      May 13, 2012 @ 06:58:03

      i agree with turning off the TV. I also struggle with putting down the laptop! I’ve got so much “stuff” (not the “S” word I want to use) yet I’m not sure where it all came from. I’m a big FlyLady fan–if you aren’t familiar, check it out. http://www.flylady.net. I often suffer from C.H.A.O.S., which stands for “can’t have anyone over syndrome”. Ahhhhh, stuff.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Worth repeating–I LOVE the Graphics Fairy!

The Graphics Fairy

Flickr Photos

Get your own free Blogoversary button!
Blinkie

Erica’s Running Journey

Erica’s Running Journey
Blinkie
