ARGHHH! 1.0


QUESTIONS I WILL NEVER BE ABLE TO FIND ANSWERS FOR:

WHY DO “VISITORS” COME TO HOSPITALS IN HERDS, GET IN THE WAY– THEN GET MAD WHEN THE NURSE ASKS THEM TO STEP OUT IN ORDER TO PROVIDE CARE????

EVEN BETTER:  WHY DO THEY BRING NEWBORNS & INFANTS INTO MARKED ISOLATION AREAS, WHERE THE SIGNS CLEARLY REQUIRE SPECIAL PROTECTIVE CLOTHING

& SIGNS SAY…… ” NO CHILDREN UNDER 12 ALLOWED”? 

VISITORS LIKE THAT ARE THE REASON SUPERBUG INFECTIONS ARE RAGING IN OUR COMMUNITIES. 

WHY DO VISITORS LET CHILDREN CRAWL AROUND ON THE FLOOR IN PATIENT CARE AREAS OF HOSPITALS????  OR WALK AROUND BAREFOOT???

WHY DO THEY BEHAVE AS IF THE WORLD IS ENDING IF IT TAKES 15 MINUTES TO BRING A SPRITE INTO THE ROOM?

OR BEHAVE AS IF THEIR CUP OF COFFEE IS A BIGGER PRIORITY THAN THE PATIENT’S CHEST PAIN??

WHY DO FAMILY MEMBERS ARGUE ABOUT MEDICATIONS & SCHEDULES BEING DIFFERENT FROM WHAT THE PATIENT TAKES OR DOES AT HOME??  IF WHAT THEY WERE DOING AT HOME WAS WORKING, THEY WOULDN’T NEED TO BE IN THE HOSPITAL.  MAKE SENSE??

WHY DOES THE PATIENTS THIRD COUSIN ON THEIR AUNT’S SIDE, TWICE REMOVED, FEEL THEY SHOULD HAVE ACCESS TO THE PATIENT’S SCAN RESULTS???

WHY DO THEY LAUGH & CURSE LOUDLY, CAROUSE & WRESTLE IN PATIENT ROOMS?  THEN GET OFFENDED WHEN THE ROOM MATE COMPLAINS….

WHY DO THEY FEEL IT’S PERFECTLY ACCEPTABLE TO COME VISIT AT 1 AM.???  OR GET MAD BECAUSE THE PHONES WON’T RING INTO THE ROOMS AFTER A SET TIME IN THE EVENING???

WHY DO THEY FEEL IT’S ACCEPTABLE TO ENTER NURSING-ONLY AREAS TO CURSE AT US OR SPEW VERBAL INSULTS & PHYSICAL THREATS???

FOR THOSE OF YOU WHO DO NOT BEHAVE IN SUCH A MISERABLE MANNER–THANK YOU!

THERE ARE MANY, MANY GOOD, KIND, CONSIDERATE VISITORS.  KNOW THAT YOUR NURSING STAFF TRULY & SINCERELY APPRECIATE YOU!!!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. phylor
    Apr 20, 2012 @ 20:29:34

    Those inconsiderate people really do deserve an arrgh; nurses already have enough to deal with; they don’t need that kind of cr*p to have to deal with too!
    Hospitals need “bouncers” and “family watchers” to keep things under control for the nursing staff!

    Reply

    • Autoimmune Maven
      Apr 21, 2012 @ 04:50:41

      Luckily, my facility has the best security in the world. They really work hard to keep us safe. Unfortunately, the dumb-asses make it about them instead of the patient. Thanks for stopping by!!

      Reply

  2. mo
    Apr 17, 2012 @ 20:50:48

    I don’t know why people go to visit people when they are in the hospital! I know when I am there, I don’t want to see anybody! Come see me when I am at home and feel better…thank you! I saw some outrageous behavior from visitors while my Mom was in the hospital for four months. LOUD televisions, people laughing so loud you could hear it down the hall, so many visitors that they had to sit on every surface in the room…including the bed! As far as I’m concerned well wishers should stay home. Call me up or send me a card. Just saying.
    mo

    Reply

    • Autoimmune Maven
      Apr 17, 2012 @ 23:19:43

      I’m the same way Mo. When I’m in the hospital, I really don’t feel chatty. I often have patients quietly ask to have guests removed–even family. The patient doesn’t want to upset them but REALLY wants and needs to rest. Personally, I wish every one of them could be really sick at least once in his/her life and have obnoxious people pile in around them while they feel like shit. Then they’ll know how miserable it is.

      Reply

    • Autoimmune Maven
      Apr 21, 2012 @ 05:03:33

      I’m the same way Mo–send me a card. OR even better–offer to run an errand for me after I get home. For so many, it’s about wanting to be seen rather than actually wishing the patient well.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Worth repeating–I LOVE the Graphics Fairy!

The Graphics Fairy

Flickr Photos

Selsey Life Boat Station

Compass Plant (Silphium laciniatum)

Squirrel in the undergrowth D50_9462.jpg

More Photos
Get your own free Blogoversary button!
Blinkie

Erica’s Running Journey

Erica’s Running Journey
Blinkie
