Drama Magnets


I have learned many things in my quest to take better care of myself.  In the beginning, I focused entirely on physical things:  Eating well, resting, medication scheduling.  After I had a system in place for those (not perfect, mind you), I started noticing other areas of my life needed some attention.

A number of people on the periphery of my life seemed to generate constant chaos.  Luckily, I

had limited interaction with them, but sometimes I had to enter their orbit.  You know the ones I’m talking about.  After spending an hour with them, it feels like my  life force has been drained out my ear ~or~  I can actually see them sucking all of the light & life out of the free world.  Yes, THOSE folks.

When I run across individuals with that ‘unique skill set’, I quietly observe to determine what actually sets the vortex spinning.  On rare occasions,  the drama arises from outside sources and mows them down like a lawn mower.  Those folks have my genuine sympathy.

Others stir & muddy the waters themselves and blame everyone around them–and they do it over and over and over and….. You get the picture…..  Everything offends them, everything is an issue to be contested, everyone is against them, the glass is TOTALLY empty.  Forever arguing, fighting blaming, complaining…The old wise folks in my life have a term for them:  Shit stirers.  Not P.C. at all, but aptly stated.  I label them ‘toxic’.

I have learned to avoid these people.  I don’t have to agree with them, or counsel them, and I’m definitely NOT responsible for fixing them.  They thrive by sucking others in and I won’t be fuel for the drama.  On occasion, I’m asked why I avoid certain individuals.  At first, I was uncomfortable discussing my observations, but over time, have become quite effective at telling the kind truth.

Moral of the story?  It’s absolutely appropriate to avoid people who suck the life out of you.  Don’t feel guilty.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. phylor
    Apr 16, 2012 @ 12:38:04

    Yes, perfect sense! That’s a good skill you’ve developed, and one I try to implement with most of my in-laws! Remebering their behaviour does help me see what drama does, and look for ways to avoid them and their toxic attitudes.

    Reply

  2. phylor
    Apr 15, 2012 @ 20:23:43

    Very wise observation — those folks are energy vampires. I have to admit that I can be one of those people!

    Reply

    • Autoimmune Maven
      Apr 15, 2012 @ 20:28:27

      I’m sure I’ve sucked my fair share of life out of the universe-trust me. Avoiding it makes me happier though and now I can tell when I’m “crossing over”. Does that make sense?

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Worth repeating–I LOVE the Graphics Fairy!

The Graphics Fairy

Flickr Photos

Chrysis duo

Smoky Mountain Blaze

Roach with Common Tern

More Photos
Get your own free Blogoversary button!
Blinkie

Erica’s Running Journey

Erica’s Running Journey
Blinkie
