Touching Base


Since Tuesday, my ‘real world’ life has been a blur.  I’ve been immersed in family, food, sadness & joy as we prepare to say goodbye to my Aunt.  Public events, work meetings, appointments, deadlines have all been lost–some I was able to cancel, others will have to forgive me.

Today is the actual funeral where we will say our last goodbye.  For me, the hardest part is leaving them lying in the funeral home after viewing.  During the dying process NO ONE leaves and we are hyper-vigilant to the process.  Just walking away seems so wrong…

My cousin Jerry shared this poem and I haven’t had time to research the author.  I will make sure I update when I have the opportunity, so proper credit can be shared.

The tide recedes but leaves behind
bright seashells on the sand.
The sun goes down, but gentle
warmth still lingers on the land.
The music stops, and yet it echoes
on in sweet refrains…..
For every joy that passes,
something beautiful remains.

Thank you to everyone who has sent notes, left sweet comments & offered prayers for myself & my family.  We are all deeply appreciative.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. phylor
    Apr 10, 2012 @ 09:24:55

    I can understand the difficulty of leaving the room after having spent time with her as she was preparing to go. But as deb … commented above, she will always be with you in your heart, and in spirit. You were able to be with her until the end which I’m sure comforted her; the wake and funeral is part of the process of saying good bye as difficult as these moments are for you (and your family).
    I found it comforting to visit my father’s space in the cementry, then after my mother died, the two of them (together again after almost 20 years) and have long conversations about life, memories, special days (birthdays, anniversaries if I was in town). I felt connected beyond holding them in my heart.
    My thoughts are with you. You have the strength to get through this difficult time even if it feels like you don’t.

    Reply

  2. mo
    Apr 08, 2012 @ 01:21:30

    When my Mother died in 2010, I wouldn’t leave the room until they closed the casket. It gave me a feeling that I was still watching over her and taking care of her until the very last minute. Be strong Sheila, saying goodbye is hard…very hard.

    My prayers to you and your family.

    mo

    Reply

  3. deb aka abcsofra
    Apr 07, 2012 @ 09:02:23

    The funeral is just one step in the process for you and your family. She will always be with you in your heart, in your mind and in every living thing on earth. Remember this and celebrate her in the moments, day, week, month and year ahead. To be remember, to me, is the “something beautiful that remains”.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Worth repeating–I LOVE the Graphics Fairy!

The Graphics Fairy

Flickr Photos

The Classic...

Safely Home

Ein kleines bisschen von Allem

More Photos
Get your own free Blogoversary button!
Blinkie

Erica’s Running Journey

Erica’s Running Journey
Blinkie
