Voiceless


I still can’t talk.

Diagnosis:  Laryngitis

Treatment:  steroids, z-pak, fluids, voice rest (plus ice cream)!

My sweet grand baby is very puzzled (and a little frustrated) that Gran isn’t as interactive as usual.  I’m amazed at how much I talk to this 8 month old person! I really, REALLY didn’t realize how much I converse with her– until it became painful to do so.  On a similar note, I am also surprised at the number of times I talk to myself.  That’s disturbing on a number of levels but I’ll leave that for you to dwell on…. I’m going to try to NOT think about it.

Also, my dogs respond to VOICE commands–although they are learning gestures– some of which are less than animal-appropriate.  They do, however, respond to “the look“.  You know–THAT look.  The one mothers use when a six year old is about to spill some crazy family secret at the PTA meeting??  Yeah, that one. Once they catch my eye, it’s instant guilty face…..  I’m surprised at how smart they are. Conversely, the cats never listened anyway, so not having a voice isn’t an issue.

If this isn’t remedied in 48 hours or so, I’m not sure what I’m going to do.  It will be grossly inconvenient!  Right now I’m confident it will resolve–that’s what I’m betting on.  My second job has been interesting–I’ve emailed staff members  instead of calling and I’ve had to postpone a couple of things.  No real issues so far… Gonna go take a nap with my sweet little Peanut!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. hibernationnow.wordpress.com
    Apr 05, 2012 @ 21:29:47

    hot tea with loads of honey, ice cream, any excuse or sorbet, it feels so good on your throat and no guilt. feel better!! Laurie

    Reply

  2. phylor
    Apr 01, 2012 @ 01:08:25

    Laryngitis is no fun! When I worked in pr, I lost my voice several times (or it was so raspy and croaky, folks weren’t sure it was me on the phone.
    Thank goodness, in that case, for email. But as bright as your little cutie (and furry friends are), I don’t imagine they have mastered the art of email yet!
    Hope you get your voice back soon! Right now, mine’s pretty raspy and going a bit in a out. I use it as my excuse (sore throat, too) to eat spoonfuls of raw, unpasturized honey!
    Hope your voice returns soon!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Worth repeating–I LOVE the Graphics Fairy!

The Graphics Fairy

Flickr Photos

Chrysis duo

Smoky Mountain Blaze

Roach with Common Tern

More Photos
Get your own free Blogoversary button!
Blinkie

Erica’s Running Journey

Erica’s Running Journey
Blinkie
