Book Nook, old-style


Over the past few weeks  I’ve been observing my life (as a bystander), noting how things I’ve learned have improved where & who I am.  Some of the lessons have been trial-by-fire where I nearly didn’t “get it”; others have been amazing epiphanies.  MOSTof them have come from

foliofinebooks.com

books I’ve read at different points in my life. Seriously.  A couple of them were things I read more than a decade ago(hence the ‘old-style’)  but the ideas & information continued to linger in my brain.

I’ve even had “ah-ha!” moments which caused me to drag out old, dusty boxes & re-read the books I vaguely recalled.  Others sent me to Ebay or Amazon to search like a crazy woman until I found what I was looking for.

Some of my best lessons & experiences have come from the craziest places & the oddest little books!  I want to share some of them, because one of my biggest lesson was to stop trying to change things outside of my self & to realize there were things about myself that were beyond my control. 

Acceptance without resentment is key to success.  After my crash-and-burn descent into illness began, I was bitter, resentful and SCARED.  My whole life was different and so was I–and I fucking hated it!  It took a L-O-N-G time to see that different is okay–and even longer to become OK with my differentness. Eventually, different became normal but only after I’d exhausted myself struggling against it.

I’m going to start with two I read way-back-when (oldies for sure) that I still pull out.  These are books that spoke to me and I’ve found them to be true in my life. Keep in mind, when I began reading these two books I thought they were full of bullshit but read them because I’d paid for them.  Imagine how surprised I was when they actually made sense to me….

Also, let me preface these two choices by saying:  I don’t think my illness or yours is in our heads.  Actually, mine has a distinct preference for the other end…  Anyway! These two books

skona hem antigue books

focus a great deal on what’s in our heads. For me, I needed the internal attention because I wasn’t being truthful to myself and my denial was coloring the rest of my world.  Also keep in mind that I read these at least a decade before my health crashed.  I used techniques from these books to shape my professional choices.  It was amazingly effective…

*Mind Power into the 21st Century by John Kehoe

I firmly believe energy & matter respond to stimuli beyond what is readily understood.  The more I learn & the more I observe, the MORE I believe it.  Keep an open mind & trust your gut…..Learning to NOT trust the little voice telling you your gut is wrong is key as well….

*Write it Down, Make it Happen by Henriette Anne Klauser

This book helped me tease the reality out of my perceptions; weed out the chaff.  Each chapter deals with an aspect of designing the life I wanted.  I thought it was bullshit, but I was homeless with two kids to raise, living by the grace of my parents.  Let’s face it, I had nothing to lose & all of my bright ideas failed.

Another book I highly recommend is The Road Less Traveledby M. Scott Peck.  This was

howstuffworks.com

the first book I read which stirred up dissatisfaction with who/where I was. It got my wheels turning & helped me realize there was a life I was missing.  I found this one in the early-mid 1990’s, which is when I needed it.  Funny how it happens that way.

I’ve read a few more I’ll be discussing in future posts.  You’ll recognize some of the names!

REMEMBER:

**When pushed, pull.  Don’t be the source of resistance in your own life.**

author unknown

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. phylor
    Dec 07, 2011 @ 10:28:33

    Write it down, make it happen sure sounds like a book I should read.
    Funny, the books that I remember parts of that have inspired me or stuck with me are more often at least thinly veiled fiction: On the Road by Kerouac; several books by Richard Bach; all of the books by what’s-his-first-name whos last name sounds like broadagen (not spelt that way). The non-fiction are no doubt long out of print (and the titles I’ll have to look up but deal with drawing on the right side of the brain; keeping a diary; and creative visualization.)

    Reply

    • Autoimmune Maven
      Dec 08, 2011 @ 01:00:23

      Many of the books I’ve been inspired by are science fiction, but that will be a long, twisted post when I bite into THAT side of it! The “Write it down-make it happen” gave direction to my chaotic thoughts. After I worked on writing toward a purpose/goal, I was able to see where I was being my own worst critic/enemy. It was pretty humbling and enlightening..

      Reply

  2. mo
    Dec 04, 2011 @ 21:10:21

    Sheila, great suggestions for books to read to get my head on straight. Funny thing, I keep having dreams were my Mom tells me…”If you want it you have to write it down”. I think I need to read Klauser’s book!
    mo

    Reply

    • Autoimmune Maven
      Dec 04, 2011 @ 21:23:47

      For me, I had to see where I was hobbling myself. My perceptions of what “was” seriously messed with my head. Yes, I felt better in the process-not because my health issues were in my head, but because I learned to work with what I could manage instead of fixating on what was no longer within my reach. Listen to your Mom….

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Worth repeating–I LOVE the Graphics Fairy!

The Graphics Fairy

Flickr Photos

The Classic...

Safely Home

Ein kleines bisschen von Allem

More Photos
Get your own free Blogoversary button!
Blinkie

Erica’s Running Journey

Erica’s Running Journey
Blinkie
