Successful-esque


Since my last post I’ve sucked it up and started doing what I’m supposed to.  Barely.  I committed to ten minutes of stretching on most days.   Putting it in print makes it seem really small and pathetic and it also means I’m admitting to having done even LESS than that for a significant period of time…..  However, now that it’s busted out and on the table, it’s not so bad.

google images

Seriously, you guys knowing about it helps keep me accountable.  The thought of having to log in here and blog about failing leaves a bad taste in my mouth, so I’m opting to NOT have to go there.

So far, I don’t have much of a “schedule” or process in place; I’m getting a feel for what works. Right now, mid-morning, after the stiffness starts to wear off, works best so that’s when I’ll probably keep doing them. The important thing is to NOT get all wrapped around the axle about what & how.  The main thing is to move, slowly,purposefully and smoothly, for ten minutes.  I start at my head and work my way down.  Usually I’ll sit on the floor and finish my stretches there.  The devil is in the details, so don’t fall into that trap!

You know what the best part is??  My pathetic little bit of effort is WORKING!  SERIOUSLY!!  Apparently was Rheumy was on-track when he gave me the explanation about edema impinging on nerve fibers….  The numbness and tingling have decreased by 50% and the urinary retention is gone.  I’m at a do-able level now!!  This convinces me even more that I do have some control over how my health progresses & I can make a difference without another pill or surgery.

google images

Maybe things are gonna improve a little!  It’s kind of a double edged lesson:  YAY, I can make a difference by doing something simple!! ~AND~ Damn, now I have to add something else to the to-do list…..Yes, I get it. 

googleimages

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Wendy Burnett
    May 01, 2011 @ 23:38:09

    Yay Sheila! Getting started is the hardest part, and you’ve DONE that. The longer you do it on a regular basis, the easier it will get; and starting out very slowly is the best way to go about it. Instead of looking at how much you did and saying, “ugh, I only did 5 minutes instead of the 10 I SHOULD have done” give yourself a pat on the back for managing as much as you did. “Hey, great, I did 5 minutes of exercise, even though I didn’t feel like doing ANY.” (And while you’re at it, try eliminating the “S” word from your vocabulary and replacing it with “want.” You might be surprised at what a difference it makes.)

    Reply

    • Autoimmune Maven
      May 02, 2011 @ 08:02:24

      Thanks for the pep talk chicky!! It took me a minute to settle in with using “want” instead of “should” but it’s fitting for me and I really do wanna feel better. An unexpected benefit is–I feel thinner–seriously. I am losing weight (slowly, intentionally) but the stretching makes me really notice it myself. It’s been a real confidence boost! Thanks for reading; you’re a huge source of support!!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Worth repeating–I LOVE the Graphics Fairy!

The Graphics Fairy

Flickr Photos

Seychelles - Anse Source D'Argent

Nordic Sunset

at the end

More Photos
Get your own free Blogoversary button!
Blinkie

Erica’s Running Journey

Erica’s Running Journey
Blinkie
