Creating a Measure of Wellness…


This is the link to Dr T’s article where he talks about these five things as they relate to Fibromyalgia.  In truth, it is excellent advice for ANY chronic illness and I wanted to share it.  Sometimes we get so caught up in this or that treatment, we lose sight of the basics.  I think it’s especially ironic to run across this at a time when I’m working on reducing sugar anyway……Encouragement from the Universe, maybe? God’s little pep talk?

The majority of this information is from Dr. T’s site and I’ve added the information pertaining to other chronic illnesses.  Addressing these key things can improve quality of life RAPIDLY!!

1. Exercising too much, too little or too erratically

Chronic illnesses create an energy deficit so you can only exercise to a point.  If you exercise to exhaustion, then you’ll stay that way for days, due to  “post-exertional  fatigue”.   Be

ondg1

careful to avoid exhaustion as it can discourage you from moderate exercise which is crucial to your health.  I started out five minutes at a time–seriously.  Each week I would increase by five minutes.  When I made it to a daily 15 minute workout, that’s where I left it.  Sometimes I’ll add in a walk or two–weather permitting but I’m exercising enough to feel better & less stiff but not enough to wipe me out.

 

2. Know When to Say “No”

Being the “yes” person leads to exhaustion, frustration and resentment–and those are just the high points!  Doing and taking on too much, especially when you’re feeling pushed by others is a major stressor.  An increase in

Say NO & DO NOT stress!----native-ning

stress can cause an exacerbation of symptoms and that isn’t good for anyone involved.   Try saying “no” more often and don’t explain yourself and apologize.  You are entitled to take care of yourself and can’t allow others’ “wants”  to compromise your wellness.

 

3. Not Listening When Your Body Tells You it’s in Pain

Widespread muscle or joint pain the most dominant symptoms associated with many

Garagos

chronic diseases.  When you feel pain, remember that that’s your body’s protective system signaling you that something needs attention. Don’t dismiss the pain or try to “play through it.” Instead learn how to manage pain using a comprehensive approach.   Dr. T’s SHINE protocol is an excellent choice for Fibro management. The S.H.I.N.E. Protocol can guide you systematically through the five key areas that you need to address.

4. Eating Excessive Sugar

Eating excessive sugar (especially in sodas or fruit juices) can severely flare fibromyalgia by worsening adrenal exhaustion and Candida/yeast overgrowth. Eat a high-protein diet and substitute Stevia or Saccharin for sugar. Sugar-free ice cream with Splenda and sugar-free chocolates with maltitol are also okay (in small amounts). Dark chocolate can actually improve fibromyalgia and chronic fatigue syndrome symptoms!

5. Not Getting Enough Sleep

It may seem counter-intuitive, but people with fatigue-related illnesses, such as

puzzled-11

fibromyalgia (and most other chronic illnesses), often get too little sleep. Getting eight to nine hours of good quality deep sleep each night is critical to eliminating fatigue and pain. If you aren’t getting enough sleep, see Sleep and Insomnia to learn about nutritional support, sleep habit changes and medications that can help you.

 

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. hibernationnow
    Apr 16, 2011 @ 19:48:34

    I plan to have oatmeal (porridge) tomorrow morning!! I need some calming of my nerves and it would be nice to lower my (high) cholesterol. Thanks!!

    Reply

  2. dogkisses
    Apr 16, 2011 @ 12:32:18

    Here is a link to the awesome “No” icons my friend Leslie created.

    http://icondoit.wordpress.com/2010/05/08/no/

    You might like to use one of them sometimes since you like cool buttons and things. I love them. Saying no to a narcissist saved my life and now saying no is taking on a new meaning in the context of living with a chronic illness and other people’s expectations and/or desires.

    hugs and doggie kisses 🙂

    Reply

    • Autoimmune Maven
      Apr 16, 2011 @ 18:51:55

      I would love to use it but I don’t know how to put it on my sidebar since I can’t find code to copy and paste. Am I missing something simple. Email if I’m missing something silly!! Thanks!

      Reply

      • dogkisses
        Apr 16, 2011 @ 23:14:17

        I put it in my media library first simply by right clicking on the image from IconDoIt and clicking copy image location. Then I added the image widget and pasted the link location into the URL. Leslie has told me how to do the code but I don’t know how. I don’t think she minds if I use it on my sidebar without it cause she knows I’ve used it so many times in my blog. I know also if you email her and she has her contact up I think, she will get back to you as soon as she can. She is fighting very serious illness but is working on her art now. I hope this helps. I didn’t even think about the code. I need to learn how to use this technology. Let me know if this helps.

        xoxoxo hugs Rosa (Michelle) and doggie kisses too 🙂

  3. Autoimmune Maven
    Apr 16, 2011 @ 12:07:18

    Thanks Chick!! I’m so glad you’re here!

    Reply

  4. dogkisses
    Apr 16, 2011 @ 12:03:33

    Great post! Thank you.

    I also love the part about dark chocolate. Yum yum.

    Thanks for the link about sleep. The herbal supplement mixture looks worth a try to me.

    Also, you might like the “No” icon I have. I have several on my blog. Leslie at IconDoIt created them. They’re great. I’ll see if I can get you a link to them.

    One of my fav foods that I think helps to relax me is McCann’s whole oatmeal. I guess you call it porridge. Oats help calm the nerves and then too they have that chemical that lowers cholesterol. You probably know the name of it.

    Be well and thanks again for the resourceful post.

    Reply

  5. phylor
    Apr 03, 2011 @ 11:47:59

    Excellent timing: I actually bought a small tub of “no added sugar” and lactose free ice cream when I got groceries yesterday. My attempts at reducing added sugar are still on going, but I was finding my junkie addiction hard to manage in the evenings, so I’d made a cup of coffee. Not the wisest thing to do when you have acid reflux AND sleep issues. The stuff actually doesn’t taste as “artificial” as I thought it might, and a few spoonfuls (0kay, 2 rounds of a few spoonfuls) quelled the beast last night.
    These are 5 very wise points. I love that dark chocolate, in moderation, is both good for the soul and for fibromyalgia.
    I can’t do most exercises due to neck issues, but would suggest a walk around the block as a way to be more active without out over doing it. If walking is an issue, then there are chair-based exercises that might be of help. I know from reading articles and folks “testamonials” gentle stretching is really an important component!
    I’m learning to say know to my 2 steam-roller friends (who also have chronic pain issues); now, if I could teach them to say no, I’d really be making headway! lol
    Thanks for sharing these. I’m going to check out Dr. T and his SHINE protocal (sounds like the good name for a band!)

    Reply

  6. hibernationnow
    Apr 02, 2011 @ 20:02:57

    A very helpful post. And I loved your “buttons.” I tend to do less than more but now that the weather (hopefully) is getting better I want to walk outside. I have come to the realization that hills (my neighbornood is very hilly) is like sudden death to me so I have found an alternate route, boring but even!! I do get enough sleep, I make sure I do. But….I was just about to eat a small bowl, ok, dish of ice cream. I don’t have soda (sometimes diet soda) I do eat fresh fruit but I’m not a candy eater. So, having read this….I will have some ice cream but not too much. thanks for posting this, for me, it was really helpful. regards, Laurie.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Worth repeating–I LOVE the Graphics Fairy!

The Graphics Fairy

Flickr Photos

The Classic...

Safely Home

Ein kleines bisschen von Allem

More Photos
Get your own free Blogoversary button!
Blinkie

Erica’s Running Journey

Erica’s Running Journey
Blinkie
