Searching for Self-Discipline


Back in ‘the day’ I was the go-to girl.  First one in–last one out, volunteering for extra assignments, taking extra classes and I LOVED IT.

PRWeb_12_2010

Setting goals, planning strategies and achieving outcomes was second nature and I was accustomed to being successful.  Sounds a little smug & bitchy when I lay it out like that……

When I faced a difficult task, I dove into and completed it–one little task at a time–and it seemed so easy to me then.  Now I’m faced with NO LONGER being the go-to gal because my health won’t allow.  So….I (in my mind) have an obligation to manage my life and health as well as possible.  Doing so will keep me as active as possible for as long as possible–makes sense.

HOWEVER…..My personal discipline has evaporated like water on hot pavement.  What the hell happened to me???  I know I feel better when I eat better–do I do it???  NOOOOO.  At work last night I ate a piece of coconut cake and a snickers.  I told myself I wouldn’t “indulge” at work– yet I did.

Everything has a pay-off or we wouldn’t do it; that’s human nature.  So what am I gaining by sabotaging myself???  Suggestions please…..  Am I afraid of being successful and feeling better?? I sure hope not….  MY goal is to shed 20 lbs–it’s not rocket surgery for pete’s sake. Maybe it’s time to start taking my own advice??  Ya think??

I also know I feel better when I stretch 15 minutes a day, but I don’t do it. Why the hell not?? I feel better when I keep a consistent sleep schedule, but I don’t do that either.  What’s really crazy is I teach all of this stuff to my patients and encourage them to use whatever tools necessary to achieve their goals.  Yet I’m not doing it and if I’m not compliant, I’m sure they aren’t either most of the time.

I’m gonna have to get to the bottom of my psychological quandary because I REALLY hate feeling like a failure…..

Tips, tricks & suggestions appreciated!!

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. phylor
    Mar 30, 2011 @ 22:03:41

    I’m my own worst enemy too! I won’t tell you the extent to which I’ve binged of late.
    It’s a deal then. No added sugar/sugary foods from March 30 to April 6. I’ve got fingers, legs, and eyes crossed it works!

    Reply

  2. phylor
    Mar 29, 2011 @ 20:33:36

    I’ve been binging in sugar on and off for the last year. I used to do that years ago, but had it somewhat under control. I’m a sugar junkie now: I crave it like a drug. Used to be able to have a taste of sugar — ie. a couple of spoonfuls of ice cream; now I end up eating the whole tub. So, I have an idea of what you’re talking about.
    I’ll try drinking more water, as has been suggested. I should be drinking ALOT of water for digestive reasons.
    Sometimes it’s harder to do something ourselves than it is to suggest it to others. Hang in there! I think the more elimination diets I go on, the worse I feel and the more I crave sugar.
    Let’s try and go for a week without a sugary treat or added sugar like in oatmeal or coffee. I’ll try and stay away from all of the sugar “oses.”
    Wish us luck!

    Reply

  3. Kathy
    Mar 29, 2011 @ 13:15:09

    Dominique I like your suggestions and will try drinking more water; I already drink a lot of fluids but will see if I can chug down one more glass. Sheila, I’d say off the top of my head, it’s coz while we know what helps we’re maybe just too exhausted to do it!

    Reply

  4. Dominique
    Mar 29, 2011 @ 13:07:47

    This is my theory and as of today, it has proven true to me. I think I have always craved the sugary items because of low energy and low water intake.

    When I started upping my water to 8-10 glasses a day (8 is normal +1 glass for every 25 pounds one is overweight) I noticed a decline. I actually was craving ‘sugar’ the other night but drank 2 glasses of water instead and was stunned to realize I din’t want the sugary item afterwards.

    I also have found I want the sugary items when my energy is low – even when I don’t realize it. I have started replacing one sugary item with a less sugary item and I do that for 30 days. By the end of the 30 days, I find I really don’t crave it much.

    I really think our cravings for sugar are tied to our energy deficits and our inadequate hydration.

    Reply

    • Autoimmune Maven
      Mar 29, 2011 @ 14:57:37

      For me, I’m sure it’s something similar, but I’ve been drinking plenty of water for years. I drink a minimum of 1/2 gallon daily. I’m sure I’m lacking in another area but figuring out which one if confounding! Thanks for reading guys. Keep tossing out thoughts and suggestions!!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Worth repeating–I LOVE the Graphics Fairy!

The Graphics Fairy

Flickr Photos

Chrysis duo

Smoky Mountain Blaze

Roach with Common Tern

More Photos
Get your own free Blogoversary button!
Blinkie

Erica’s Running Journey

Erica’s Running Journey
Blinkie
