Sjogren’s Syndrome, in Brief


Since my late teens I’ve been plagued by autoimmune disease complications but remained undiagnosed until I was 40 yrs old.

My most recent diagnosis is secondary Sjogren’s Syndrome.  This means the disorder manifested as a result of my other autoimmune issues.  Frequently these illnesses manifest as a cluster of three rather than a single disorder or syndrome.   Below I’ve included information from the Mayo Clinic:

Definition

By Mayo Clinic staff

Sjogren’s (SHOW-grins) syndrome is a disorder of your immune system often defined by its two most common symptoms — dry eyes and a dry mouth.

Sjogren’s syndrome often accompanies other autoimmune disorders, such as rheumatoid arthritis and lupus. In Sjogren’s syndrome, the mucous membranes and moisture-secreting glands of your eyes and mouth are usually affected first — resulting in decreased production of tears and saliva…

The main symptoms of Sjogren’s syndrome are:

  • Dry eyes. Your eyes may burn, itch or feel gritty — as if there’s sand in them.
  • Dry mouth. Your mouth may feel like it’s full of cotton, making it difficult

    ...how dry I am....

    to swallow or speak.

Sjogren’s syndrome patients may also experience one or more of the following:

  • Joint pain, swelling and stiffness
  • Swollen salivary glands — particularly the set located behind your jaw and in front of your ears
  • Skin rashes or dry skin
  • Vaginal dryness
  • Persistent dry cough
  • Prolonged fatigue

Sjogren’s patients have a greater risk of lymphoma, serious eye complications related to dryness/eye ulcers, lung infections & Loss of lung expandability  primary biliary cirrhosis,  and a host of other “goodies”.

To share an example of the difference it makes in a daily routine, consider this:

Every day I have to swab moisturizing products in my nose & ears at regular intervals.  I also carry oral moisture products to use 12-16 times a day.  Even with diligent oral care and follow-up I’ve lost MULTIPLE teeth due to Sjogren’s. On average, I have to sneak away to use moisturizing eye drops every couple hours.  I feel like a pack horse with all of this stuff in my bag or scrub pockets (when I work).

I also avoid fans like the plague because of the dryness.  It drys my eyes & mouth immediately, so much that I can’t speak or blink.  For the same reason, I avoid wind and always wear sunglasses due to light sensitivity.  I’m saving up to get a special pair of glasses with a “seal” to lock out breezes and I can’t wait!!  They actually look nice, which is a pleasant change from other options.

Overall, the treatment is the same as for other autoimmune diseases–immuno-suppression & symptom management.  Currently, I’m on Methotrexate which has been a God-send.  I’ll put up a side-effects post in the near future.

For anyone looking for support, check out my fave Sjogren’s group on yahoo.  I can’t take any credit for starting or moderating the group but I’m SO grateful to whoever did!!  These folks have been a ton of support.  I also have links to other stuff on my ‘this ‘n that & resource pages.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Wendy Burnett
    Feb 15, 2011 @ 01:31:41

    When I was on methotrexate, the main side effect I had (other than the nausea when I took it) was mouth sores. I discovered that putting salt on the sore would clear it up almost immediately (warning: this is a VERY painful option, but I’m a “yank the bandage off” kind of girl. I’d rather deal with really bad pain for a few minutes than have a sore for days that hurts only a little less.)

    Reply

    • Autoimmune Maven
      Feb 15, 2011 @ 13:19:23

      I had a huge problem at first, but my rheumy doubled my folic acid to 2 mg a day and it’s much better. I still can’t eat “rough” stuff like nachos but I don’t have big, fat sores anymore. The nausea is manageable but I’m shedding LOTS of hair, including my eyelashes & brows. I’m considering ordering some Joan Rivers ‘Great Hair Day’ to see if it helps disguise it. I really feel tons better though and can’t see discontinuing for vanity’s sake. Thanks for reading chicky!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Worth repeating–I LOVE the Graphics Fairy!

The Graphics Fairy

Flickr Photos

The Classic...

Safely Home

Ein kleines bisschen von Allem

More Photos
Get your own free Blogoversary button!
Blinkie

Erica’s Running Journey

Erica’s Running Journey
Blinkie
