Being a Nurse Does NOT Help :-(


 

say it ain't so!

say it ain't so!

 

 

I have to give myself a subcutaneous injection once a week.  Tiny needle, less than 1 ml of fluid & I can use any body part I choose.  Usually, I alternate thighs.  Should be a no-muss, no-fuss, less than a minute event.  Except….It takes me F-O-R-E-V-E-R to do it.  I just can’t understand WHY.  You would think it was a home amputation kit or something!  It usually takes 20 minutes or so for me to work up the nerve.  That’s nuts–I teach people to give themselves injections and I’m not especially tolerant.  Is this boomerang karma biting me in the ass again?  It has definitely changed the way I teach.

Some days I consider going to work & asking a co-worker to give me the shot-but it’s a matter of pride.  Any of them would do it for me though.  I’ve also thought about asking my Sweetie to do it for me, but I prefer to isolate him from my sick-o crap when I can. Goodness knows he wallows in it enough with me.   So….That leaves me and I need to suck it up and do it.

Sometimes the whiny-baby in my head wants to turn it into a pity party but I don’t let that happen.  I have too much to be grateful for to even start that stuff.   Thank God I have medicines which allow me to keep on keeping on!  I’ll keep struggling with it until I get it right, but my hesitation has been (and remains)  a psychological mystery to me….

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Dominique
    Nov 16, 2010 @ 12:15:51

    I am comfortable. I wouldn’t say I was settled in because that will take me about 18 months to save up and purchase everything I need. My bed alone is looking to be around $3,000.00 in order to get it chemical free – and possibly a doctor’s note to boot! But I have a lawn chair and an air mattress and the bare, bare essentials so I’m doing good. Right now I’m working on getting money together for winter clothes. I actually didn’t have any. I just got my winter coat (29.00 psyche!) and a set of sweats and one pair of winter pjs. Still working on the rest. Thank God for heat!

    Thanks for asking. I really am adjusting well. Just having to take is one step at a time is all. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Dominique
    Nov 15, 2010 @ 19:50:45

    The picture was enough for me. I don’t know how anyone does that to themselves. Creeps me out. Maybe you are right though. This is a moment to learn compassion and understanding for others who can’t do it either.

    Just curious, but where is the least likely place for an injection to hurt?

    Reply

    • autoimmunemaven
      Nov 16, 2010 @ 01:19:06

      Hi Dominique! Thanks for being sympathetic. Regarding places that hurt the least….It depends on what type of injection it is. The ones like insulin or the med. I’m on can be given subcutaneously with a small needle. For me, my thighs are the least painful. Others say their abdomen is less sensitive. Those shots can go anyplace where fatty tissue is available. If the shot is in the muscle, which is much deeper, then there’s no place that doesn’t hurt. I prefer the behind because it’s the biggest muscle and it’s less sore later on. Shots that go in the muscle are very limited as to the amount of medicine they can hold and, in an adult, any amount of medication more than 1 ml. has to go in the booty. Are you comfortable and settled in? Thanks for reading!!

      Reply

  3. Java
    Nov 13, 2010 @ 23:18:55

    Hi Sheila!

    Thanks for stopping by and thanking me! That was so sweet of you! I added your blog to the Over 40 Bloggers Club!!

    Thanks for joining!

    Hope you have a great Sunday!!
    Java
    xo

    Reply

  4. spicyt
    Nov 13, 2010 @ 18:06:37

    The human mind is a mystery. I used to be a nurse, and was a good one if I say so myself…lol, I could take care of any patients injury, blood, poo, punctures, skin grafts, incisions, staples, boils, whatever…but if one of my kids or myself (mostly kids) is bleeding or has an injury, I freeze into a shock type thing. One time after my daughter was in 2nd grade and had her tonsils/adenoids removed, I was sleeping with her that night, she woke me up and she had blood and clots just spewing from her mouth! I literally couldn’t walk…I CRAWLED to the master bedroom to get my husband and we then together got her bundled up and into the car to the ER…by the time we got there, she was no longer bleeding, and all they did was have her eat a frozen bar and all was well, lol.

    Also, one of my biggest phobias, are skewers or toothpicks. I cannot stand them. Hate having to pull food on or off of skewers, makes me get goosebumps…and cannot stand for people to pick at their teeth with toothpicks….weird I know.

    So, I don’t think it’s odd for you to have hesitation when injecting yourself…I would too. When I had an ostomy, I couldn’t care for it myself for the longest time…my husband did it…I finally got to the point where I could though. But even though I too have trouble asking people for help or assistance of any kind, I did for those occassions, and still must ask for help, even when I don’t like to….sometimes we must.

    Great blog! xoxox
    tammy
    http://spicyt.wordpress.com

    Reply

    • autoimmunemaven
      Nov 13, 2010 @ 19:26:54

      Tammy, I didn’t realize you are a nurse. If you told me before it slipped out of my brain.

      It is extra-awful when it’s the kids who are hurt or sick!! I would’ve had to crawl too if I had a S/P tonsillectomy event like that & I would’ve considered burning the bed clothes. Geez. You are so brave in facing everything you’ve been dealt. I would have committed a felony on a Dr then submitted an insanity plea! Thanks for reading, encouraging & sharing your experiences!!

      Reply

  5. Sean Barker
    Nov 13, 2010 @ 16:23:25

    I’ll do it. If I puke, then you are on your own

    Reply

    • autoimmunemaven
      Nov 13, 2010 @ 19:08:12

      Thanks Sweetie! I’m gettin’ it done so far. It’s pretty funny to watch, I’m sure. I won’t suck you into it as long as I can manage, but I doubt if you would puke. You’re the best-Love you!

      Reply

  6. phylor
    Nov 13, 2010 @ 11:34:21

    PS: I meant to mention with the blood stuff — I could watch the blood donaton process fine (when I wasn’t taking meds that meant I couldn’t give blood). So a vial or two full of my blood made me whoozy, while a whole bag/pint, I didn’t even blink!

    Reply

    • autoimmunemaven
      Nov 13, 2010 @ 19:13:14

      Kudos to you for donating blood!! I associate lab tubes with sickness & that may be why you get woozy…A pint of blood is a “gift” you’re giving. Those tubes have been taken!! I’m working on asking for help & I feel good about the progress I’m making. I just get so frustrated when I struggle with something as tiny as that shot. Thank you so much for reading & commenting!

      Reply

  7. phylor
    Nov 13, 2010 @ 11:31:44

    I think we all have our phobias — seemingly simple, easy to do tasks, actions, conversations — and there isn’t necessarily any reason behind it. My hubby (who used to make jewelry) can’t watch me put earrings into my two ear “holes.” He’s changed the bandages twice daily and cleaned the stitches, each time on my back from my melanoma surgeries (even when I got contact dermatisis from the adhesive on the bandages), he helped when I got an allergic reaction infection behind my ear. He’s done other countless gross things to help me out (including some other surgeries), but the earring thing gives him the willies. I can handle stitches okay, but once I had staples and that is my big phobia now. (Of course, the person who took out the staples wasn’t all that gentle, either). Hubby watched the doctor put my wrist back into position — I got whoozy just looking at it after I fractured it. I can’t watch them draw my blood, but I can watch other folks have their blood drawn.
    I know it was hard for you to come to the arrangement with your friend to clean your house; maybe, as hibernationnow suggests, you should ask for some help to get it done. You might be surprised to find out that your collegues all have their own “I have a hard time doing this to myself” issues.
    Good luck with the injection issue! If you ask for help, you’re not giving in, you’re simply simplifying your life. And, who doesn’t need their lives simplified these days!

    Reply

  8. hibernationnow
    Nov 13, 2010 @ 09:14:45

    I think it’s hard for some people (myself included) to ask for help. But, please at least consider your options. If another nurse asked you for help I am sure you wouldn’t hesitate. In fact, you would probably feel good that you were asked and that she trusted you. You also have another option asking your “honey.” I don’t think he would mind a bit, in fact, maybe he would feel like he was actually helping. Don’t get mad at yourself and it really isn’t a medical or psychological mystery…it’s just hard to ask, at least the first time. After that, when you see the response, you will feel so much better. It’s something to think about so you don’t have to keep it all to yourself. Good luck, keep us posted!

    Reply

    • autoimmunemaven
      Nov 13, 2010 @ 19:15:28

      Thanks for the pep talk!! Maybe I should put a nursey friend on “shot alert”….Hmmmm, maybe we could do lunch afterward….My new mantra should be “asking for help is good…asking for help is good….”
      Thank you so much for reading!!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Worth repeating–I LOVE the Graphics Fairy!

The Graphics Fairy

Flickr Photos

Get your own free Blogoversary button!
Blinkie

Erica’s Running Journey

Erica’s Running Journey
Blinkie
