It’s Junior High Stuff, C’mon!


 

compliments of www.photobucket.com

Pay attention--READ A BOOK~

At work the other day, I read a memo for all nurses: Your required to complete this by blah, blah, blah…

OMG-the person sending out the memo has a MSN degree.  Your.  It should be “you’re” because it is being used as the contraction for “you are”.  Makes me CRAZY!  C’mon people, really.

Today I read (not red) a post on a group I belong to; keep in mind that not one person who responded to the group corrected this:

“What cents do your teens like?”  Mine doesn’t like cents; she only wants money that folds…

SCENTS not CENTS-grade school stuff.  What about ‘to, too & two’?  Example: I have to go drop off boxes at Goodwill.  Too much stuff has piled up and I have no need to keep more than two of anything.  Basic, basic, basic.

Another personal favorite– ‘their, there, and they’re’.  What about ‘personal & personnel’?   Other offenders are see & sea, maybe & may be, stationery & stationary, principal and principle…the list is endless and my frustration is boundless!  I hear many similar things at work when I educate families:  ‘prostate & prostrate’, ‘stats & sats’,  plus tons of others….Some are funny and others are sad.

Our language is complex and beautiful; as citizens we have an obligation to do it justice.  If one doesn’t know, then LOOK IT UP.  Free educational resources are everywhere–OH, there’s another offender–‘know & no’, plus ‘wait & weight’–They’re everywhere!!

Ultimately,  an individual chooses his/her level of awareness but most of the things I’ve pointed out are grade school-level stuff.  Pull your head out of your butt!  I’ve heard some attribute lack of knowledge to “freedom of choice”; I don’t know what insane statement follows because I’m busy walking away.  CHOICE??  Choosing to remain ignorant makes as much sense (not since) as drowning in the rain.  PLEASE folks, really.  Don’t deliberately enter a war of wits unarmed…

To all of my articulate, awesome friends, readers & co-bloggers–LOVE YOU.

 

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kathy
    Nov 14, 2010 @ 17:56:39

    Here’s one I saw on Facebook yesterday: May God and all his angles comfort you….God has angles? It was all I could do not to respond….

    Reply

  2. Kathy
    Nov 10, 2010 @ 14:55:40

    Drives me absolutely crazy! Proofread, people, proofread!!! The best one I’ve seen, on mls.ca (a real estate listing website) is listings that have a “dinning” room! I have made my share of typos though so I can’t complain too much.

    Reply

  3. phylor
    Nov 07, 2010 @ 00:50:25

    Thanks for this! The adoption of email, then texting as a means of communication has really butchered the English language. I was never a great grammarian, but when I was still a teacher, I had to shake my head at the smiple mistakes kids would make. A word is not made plural by adding ‘s. ‘s is for possives, not plurals, but somehow it became the norm to pluralize that way.
    I got very informal, poorly spelled, and just plain bad emails from students asking for extensions. And this was back in the mid 1990s to 2003, before texting and twittering further eroded folks grasp of a sentence, language, etc. Now I have to learn a new language just to keep up with what folks post on facebook, and I don’t text nor tweet!

    Reply

  4. Dominique
    Nov 06, 2010 @ 20:31:35

    First off…please do not read my blog that closely. Since the accident I can’t remember which way they, they’re, their go! Yikes!

    Despite that, I totally got the message. I agree. I got an email from an editor a couple of weeks ago. No capitalization, mis-spellings galore, and just sloppy, sloppy writing. I was stunned to say the least.

    I even found 2 types in one of James Patterson’s books!

    I’m like you. Outside of my brain malfunctioning, I really try to speak and write in a grammatically correct manner. How was that for a punch line! ha!

    P.S. What would be really bad is if you found a typo in my rant!

    Reply

    • autoimmunemaven
      Nov 07, 2010 @ 06:23:01

      Dominique, you know I love everything you do! The accidental stuff makes us human and we figure it out eventually. I’m talking about the dumb-asses who would argue that they are right. My all-time fave stupid-ism came from a community talk forum. One group member called another a pre-madonna. Really.

      She had no clue what she was actually saying-prima donna -it’s the best I’ve seen so far! Thank you so much for reading. Trust me, you are NOT an offender!

      Reply

  5. High School Dating Tips For Guys
    Nov 06, 2010 @ 18:26:00

    rofl

    damn

    Reply

  6. Wendy Burnett
    Nov 06, 2010 @ 12:31:12

    ROFL – I feel your pain sister. I’ve given up on mentioning such things though, ever since I (privately) mentioned to a friend that they were using the wrong word and was informed (not very nicely) that it was RUDE to correct someone’s English. Personally, I LIKE it when someone sends me an email pointing out that I’m making myself look like an uneducated idiot by misusing the language (although I do prefer that they put it more politely) so that I can correct my mistakes.

    My absolute favorite mistake is a pronunciation error than I’ve heard thousands of times. There is NO “L” in “frustrated” folks. Not one. You’re either frustrated or flustered, and the definitions aren’t even close.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Worth repeating–I LOVE the Graphics Fairy!

The Graphics Fairy

Flickr Photos

Chrysis duo

Smoky Mountain Blaze

Roach with Common Tern

More Photos
Get your own free Blogoversary button!
Blinkie

Erica’s Running Journey

Erica’s Running Journey
Blinkie
