Are you SERIOUS??


 

Going to my happy place..

 

OMG…Tonight must’ve been mega-crazy night at the nut house!!  I simply cannot fathom what my patients & family members were thinking.  They had NO concern for the ‘life-saving health care aspect’.  They behave as if they are in a hotel with room service…Two were upset that dinner trays were late –then one of them refused to eat hers when it arrived.  Personally, I think it’s a decent accomplishment that a non-restaurant can prepare and deliver 300 specialized diet trays in two hours.  Another was upset because his procedure  couldn’t be done for two hours later than originally thought.  What did he say??  “I don’t care about anyone’s fucking emergency-I was told 10 am!”  Apparently he thought someone gave a damn about his childish fit but he still waited.  Four or five others were throwing fits for private rooms; they think we’re lying about not having them but they truly do not exist.  The few we have are always full, based on need not “want”.  My whole shift was tied up with “I don’t like my chair, my gown isn’t comfortable, my room is too hot/cold.  You should provide refreshments for my family, I demand to speak to your manager. You’re just keeping me here for the money.  You’re taking advantage of my insurance company (TRULY–nurses have NO CLUE what your coverage status is and we don’t care. We take care of everybody.  period.)  I just had to vent a little.  The patients and families were so childish and petty it was almost impossible to do my job and yes I know there are at least two sides to every story….  Geez…Wonder if I’ll get in trouble for telling them to put on their big girl panties??

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. autoimmunemaven
    Oct 29, 2010 @ 02:07:04

    Thanks! You’re the best!

    Reply

  2. phylor
    Oct 29, 2010 @ 02:01:55

    It’s good to vent! I’ve often found that public service/serving/helping jobs are full of people demanding immediate attention, mind-reading skills and treating those who provide them with services like dirt. It makes me wonder what they were like before, at home, or if they treat their family members and/or friends in the same way.
    Indentured servitude, serfdom, and other forms of people ownership are not legal in the US; perhaps these people need a history lesson as well as their big girl panties.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Worth repeating–I LOVE the Graphics Fairy!

The Graphics Fairy

Flickr Photos

Chrysis duo

Smoky Mountain Blaze

Roach with Common Tern

More Photos
Get your own free Blogoversary button!
Blinkie

Erica’s Running Journey

Erica’s Running Journey
Blinkie
