On Denial & Not Opening the Mail….


DANGER!

Some times I really don’t want to deal with stuff.  I just don’t.  I’ve spent many years  confronting things head-on, being the first one in & the last one out.  It was always me, going first, testing the waters, asking the crappy questions.  Well I’m finished with all that shit.  I don’t want to know any more than I have to in order to live my little life.

I get so much crap in the mail.  Some are bills, some are ads, some are plain old junk.  Well I have gone on a mail hiatus.  All of my major “stay alive” bills are automated so I know my lights will stay on & the mortgage is paid.  There’s nothing in that pile of mail that will affect my immediate well-being, so I’ve said to hell with it.  Sometimes I’ll open a piece or two that interests me & other weeks not.

Am I being irresponsible?  Am I obligated to spend time perusing something because a stranger felt the need to send it?  To date,  I haven’t missed anything by NOT opening this stuff & if something REALLY needs attention, I’ll get a phone call (or a hand-delivered summons!!).   For me, it has been really therapeutic to not have all of that stuff in my head.  It feels like a new type of freedom & I’m happy with it.  Hmmmm…..I wonder what else I can choose NOT to do………….

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. hibernationnow
    Oct 26, 2010 @ 13:38:40

    Excellent idea!!!!

    Reply

  2. Wendy Burnett
    Oct 26, 2010 @ 01:52:36

    LOL – sounds like a plan to me. My problem is that I don’t open it, but I DO tend to save it if it looks like something that MIGHT be important. Just today I found a booklet of coupons from the warehouse club we belong to that expired in JUNE . . .

    Reply

    • autoimmunemaven
      Oct 26, 2010 @ 08:30:03

      Hi Wendy, I haven’t had that happen yet. However, I have a pile I haven’t opened yet! I’m slowly trying to get rid of all this shit. I’m on the “no junk mail” list and that has helped some. During the time my dtr initially went nuts (and moved into the meth lab) I was in such a funk I couldn’t deal with anything & that’s how my mail pile started. Now I just like not having to deal with it….I’m sure it will bite me eventually!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Worth repeating–I LOVE the Graphics Fairy!

The Graphics Fairy

Flickr Photos

Selsey Life Boat Station

Compass Plant (Silphium laciniatum)

Squirrel in the undergrowth D50_9462.jpg

More Photos
Get your own free Blogoversary button!
Blinkie

Erica’s Running Journey

Erica’s Running Journey
Blinkie
