Digging In-Making Changes


Good morning world!!  It’s a misty fall day in KY and chaos reigns supreme!!  On the good side of things–I feel better than I have in MONTHS.  Thank you God for giving me good days.  On the less attractive side, my life is full of clutter & insanity that has piled up during my last bout of yucky-ness.

Giving credit where it’s due, I really have organized & stream-lined much of my life.  I don’t want it to sound like I’m beating myself up.  On the other hand, I have many miles to go before I’m happy with my progress.  I’m frustrated that my level of personal discipline is lacking in other areas.  I guess I’m going to have to tackle those areas as well.  Hopefully my feel-good time lasts a couple of weeks.  That will be enough to make a difference.

In the Graceful Agony group (HI JO!!)  we are doing a balanced life challenge, helping each other get a grip on areas we’ve all struggled with.  So far we’ve incorporated:

A.  spend a few minutes in one key area of the home daily

B.  spend time cultivating a  spiritual pursuit daily

C. stretch 15 minutes daily (do something for our physical health)

If I keep up with these three things I will be thrilled; these things will help keep me centered & motivated.  I would also like to add a few other things like eating better (because I feel better when I do) & finding ways to keep the healthy eating alive doing times of sickness.  Realistically, my options plummet during those times & I’m going to have to forgive myself & move on from it.

I would like to also spend more time looking nicer.  NOT model-like by any means, but neat & put together would be nice.  I’ve gotten into the sweat clothes trap & I knew it was at a critical level when I caught myself thinking “I need to get some new dress-up sweats”.  I’m almost ashamed to admit that…OMG.  I spent an hour cleaning out my closet; I got rid of everything with a hole in it, everything older than my daughter (19 yrs), and most of the things I would classify as dust rags rather than garments.  Since I’m so frugal by nature,  I made sure the useful stuff went to someone who could use it;  I also  had a $5 rebate check I used toward buying myself a new basic wardrobe piece that did NOT look like something I could sleep in.

I’m feeling really good about my progress & I know that successes build upon themselves.  I think my next conquest will be sleeping in my bed again.  I have an awesome queen-sized bed that I haven’t slept in for nearly a year.  For some reason I’ve turned into a couch sleeper.  Gotta get over it!  Sincerely hoping I’m not the only one in this spot….

 

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. autoimmunemaven
    Nov 03, 2010 @ 10:40:02

    Hi Kathy, Congrats on the purge! I went to the local thrift store & spent $20 replacing key pieces that I need but didn’t have. Actually, I found myself in a situation similar to yours–thanks for sharing it with me! I found a pair of black pants and a brown skirt, so that’s something for me to work with.

    I’m liking your cook and freeze idea too. I’m gonna pick a couple of things & see if I can’t run with it. I really appreciate your friendship!! Thanks.

    Reply

  2. Kathy
    Oct 31, 2010 @ 16:40:14

    I just did a closet purge today and some things just don’t work or fit anymore. Sad about the don’t fit any more part ): Also, my wardrobe’s pretty unbalanced. I too can live in casual sweats – I have decided that I need at least one more pair of “winter” dress pants. Wendy here we HAVE to wear pants lol or we’d freeze our butts off. I could also and a skirt and dress too for winter! I am going out to a nice place tonight and have to dress up, and I’m sitting here waiting for my “hang to dry” only pr. of dress pants to dry – I’ll have to take the blow dryer to ’em if they aren’t ready soon!

    On your good days, autoimmunemaven, can you do some freezer meals for the days when you aren’t feeling up to cooking?

    Reply

  3. phylor
    Oct 26, 2010 @ 07:45:27

    Since my neighbo(u)rs haven’t seen me in a bathing suit (do I still own one, I wonder), I think I’ll keep my pants on for the time being. lol 🙂

    Reply

    • autoimmunemaven
      Oct 26, 2010 @ 08:33:42

      Oh Phylor….I’m not sure if I have a bathing suit. The whiteness of my pasty self would blind my neighbors. I’m with you–I’m keeping my pants on–Wendy, more power to ya. I’ve gotten into the sweat pants/yoga pants habit and it appears to be my comfortable rut…

      Reply

  4. Wendy Burnett
    Oct 26, 2010 @ 02:01:13

    Good lord ladies, you actually wear PANTS at home? My usual “day off” dress is a tshirt and underwear unless it’s cold. My uniform shirt comes down to my knees, and I couldn’t tell you how many times I’ve come home, kicked off my shoes, pulled off the uniform pants and gone up to the main house to get dinner in just that shirt and undies. I figure our roommates have seen me in a bathing suit, the shirt and undies cover more than that, so what the heck. (Can you tell I’m not a bit shy?)

    Reply

  5. phylor
    Oct 25, 2010 @ 18:57:37

    Sure do! I try and look dressed even if it’s day that I’m not going out. Which means at some point, I change out of the really-look-like sleep pants, into something that looks less like sleep pants! lol 🙂

    Reply

  6. phylor
    Oct 25, 2010 @ 10:14:09

    Glad to hear that you are feeling better; good enough to tackle new self-improvement goals.
    It does feel good to purge closets, basements, attics every now and then. There is a bag of clothes up in the attic that have sentimental value: haven’t quite been able to pass those along yet. Like you, I give stuff that is still wearable to a charity like the Red Cross, local women’s shelter or Salvation Army.
    I kept my mom’s sleep pants when I cleaned out her closet and dresser drawers, and have been known to wear a couple of the “dressier” non-fleece versions on shopping trips, etc. My sleep pants are your sweats! 🙂
    Good luck with your new “projects.”

    Reply

    • autoimmunemaven
      Oct 25, 2010 @ 10:57:54

      Hi!! I’m enjoying my reprieve, that’s for sure….Stream-lining life really does make it easier; I also think it makes me feel like I have some control. Sounds like we have a lot in common, including the sweats/comfy pants thing. Do you ever have that love/hate thing with them??

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Worth repeating–I LOVE the Graphics Fairy!

The Graphics Fairy

Flickr Photos

The Classic...

Safely Home

Ein kleines bisschen von Allem

More Photos
Get your own free Blogoversary button!
Blinkie

Erica’s Running Journey

Erica’s Running Journey
Blinkie
