Sick is the New Healthy


Over the past couple of months I’ve spent lots of time listening to folks around me.  I’ve consistently heard similar stories-some longer, some shorter, some more successful than others–but very similar.  I’ve noticed this in patients, co-workers, friends & family; Honestly, I was astounded I hadn’t picked up on the theme before now!

The majority of the folks I listened to were managing a chronic health concern.  Many them were managing poorly, but it was there nonetheless.  Hypertension, diabetes, COPD, CHF, autoimmune disorders, mental health concerns and a host of others.  In most cases, they didn’t even realize it!  Nor did they implement interventions to improve their health status…AND about 1/3 of those criticized others for not changing lifestyle choices to benefit their health.  The smoker criticized the obese patient, the alcoholic dissed the drug abuser,  the salt-a-holic harangued the caffeine drinker.

Do they criticize choices of others to justify why theirs is “not so bad”?  I think I’ve heard them all: “I only smoke 4-5 cigarettes a day”, “I don’t drink that much”, “It’s better than using drugs”, blah, blah, blah…  My friend smokes like a freight train but blames humidity and pollen for her sinus problems & wheezing.  Denial?? Yep.  Is it hard to give up any of this stuff.  Hell yes!!

Here I am, with my pot-calling-the-kettle-black approach, drinking my third pot of coffee as I type this.  I’m trying not to think about what it’s doing to my blood pressure.  Maybe tomorrow I’ll get a handle on it……..

Leave a Reply

Worth repeating–I LOVE the Graphics Fairy!

The Graphics Fairy

Flickr Photos

Chrysis duo

Smoky Mountain Blaze

Roach with Common Tern

More Photos
Get your own free Blogoversary button!
Blinkie

Erica’s Running Journey

Erica’s Running Journey
Blinkie
