Medication Side-Effects & Other Thing I Wish Didn’t Exist


Ever since I’ve been diagnosed with this host of chronic crap, I’ve been on a ton of medications; some of them have had miserable side-effects & others, not so much.  In my pre-illness days I used to think people were crazy to take things that caused negative symptoms–now I realize it comes down to negative & negative-er.   MORE negative.  Dammit!!

The unsavory chore of weighing risks and benefits rests soundly on my shoulders. Tolerating moderate discomfort for maximum return is fine, even moderate for moderate is ok. I’m hoping it’s not a situation of trading maximum discomfort for minimal gain, but I’ve pledged to always take a medication for the recommended duration, unless I have a severe side effect. That pledge helps me maintain a strong working relationship with my team of physicians & they respect my opinion when I tell them something ain’t working.

I’ve been on methotrexate for about four weeks now; overall, not too shabby from a side-effect standpoint.  Much, much better than the monograph made it sound, but I may just be one of the lucky ones. However, as my dose grows, so will the possibility of other symptoms.  I took my dose yesterday (it’s a wkly med.) and woke up at 4:00 with a CRAZY, miserable headache.  Super-intense but not a migraine.  My hair has started to thin some but I don’t think I’m going to loose a whole lot; it makes me dizzy though and now the freakin’ headaches.  Whine, whine, bitch, bitch, bitch…I hate Crohn’s!!  I hate Arthritis!!  I hate, HATE crazy medications!!!  I still love chocolate & puppies though, so I suppose I’ll live but for now I’m going to go sleep this headache away.  For my friends who don’t understand–Bear with me!!

If you want to do research on your own, here are some good places to start:

http://www.mayoclinic.com

http://my.clevelandclinic.org/default.aspx

Leave a Reply

Worth repeating–I LOVE the Graphics Fairy!

The Graphics Fairy

Flickr Photos

JWL8376  Cuckoo..

Chrysis duo

Smoky Mountain Blaze

More Photos
Get your own free Blogoversary button!
Blinkie

Erica’s Running Journey

Erica’s Running Journey
Blinkie
