Biochemical Response?


Have you ever felt panicky & hyperventilated at the thought of letting someone (or a group of someone’s) down?  Even when you were right??  AND you didn’t give a flying rats ass about what they thought??  I just had that automatic response to a situation I’ve seen coming, and I’m spending a moment trying to figure out why.  I know a sense of disappointment comes from ones unmet expectations, but I am also learning that it is fine for those with unreasonable expectations to FEEL DISAPPOINTMENT. I’m sure my response comes from my innate desire to be a fixer & people pleaser.   Any of you guys ever experienced this??

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. boonieman
    Jul 05, 2013 @ 05:24:08

    I enjoyed reading your blog. I stumbled across it on nightworks. You are You certainly have a creative writing style that is pleasing to read. I’ve slowed down some on the panicky/hyper feelings maybe just because I’m older and slower. But I tend to not ruin my day dwelling on what others think, and if possible try to make theirs a little better. Besides, my dogs always love me no matter what. :)

    Reply

    • Autoimmune Maven
      Jul 09, 2013 @ 20:00:25

      Thanks Danny! I’m surprised you found it. Hopefully, I will have time to update more often & get into a regular posting schedule. It’s the first time in seven years that I haven’t had two jobs. Glad you took the time to comment & thanks for stopping by!

      Reply

  2. phylor
    Jul 02, 2013 @ 12:19:14

    Nice to see you have the time to blog again!
    I can commiserate with your feelings. Sometimes things don’t work out, and “our” disappointment seems to be the response.
    I’m working on trying to look at how I will respond, or if it’s something that can’t end well, isn’t in my control — look for what it can teach me, get my emotions ready, and keep my fingers crossed.
    Sounds like you learned something about yourself. Anxiety and angst can slip in so easily. After years of dismissal and being terribly treated, I have disowned the majority of my in-laws. It’s the only way I can deal with the depression I feel like after listening them talk about how good they are, how much better they are because I don’t work, how rich they are and buy each other expense gifts. This Christmas, they gave me a jar of jam, and each other real designer items. They weren’t raised that way, but money has made the majority of them self-centered and smug. So, to hell with them — no more “family gatherings” with the in-laws! I shouldn’t have gotten so upset over their behavior but I still felt inadequate around them.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Worth repeating–I LOVE the Graphics Fairy!

The Graphics Fairy

Flickr Photos

Beyond the Cabbage Palms

Svartifoss

Roter Herbst ... - Red autumn ...

More Photos
Get your own free Blogoversary button!
Blinkie

Erica’s Running Journey

Erica’s Running Journey
Blinkie
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 36 other followers

