RNA Polymerase Inhibition and the Death Cap Mushroom A.K.A-Don’t Eat That!!


*NOTE:  If you found this post while searching for resources to complete your own assignment–Please review the source I’ve listed & decide if you agree with what I’ve stated.  Some instructors disagree & will reject your paper.  See the comments for this post & make your own decision regarding what to use.

I had to do this little blurb for one of my classes.  Every few years some fool poisons himself and most of his family, thinking he’s an expert.  As usual–Trust but verify…..

thx, Photobucket

Death Cap mushrooms belong to

a group of fungi called Amanita

phalloides and are considered one

of the most poisonous fungi

known.

As a group, A. phalloides is

responsible for nearly all of the

human poisonings and deaths

related to poison mushroom

consumption.

Amanita phalloides attacks the

body through RNA polymerase

inhibition and does not produce

immediate symptoms of poisoning.

This is one of the characteristics

the death cap uses to wreak havoc

on the human organism.

Specifically, the toxin attacks the

liver and kidneys with great gusto.

With no known cure or antidote,

a liver transplant is frequently

required, if the patient survives.

By inhibiting RNA polymerase,

the mushroom creates a perfect

storm of events uniquely suited to

destroying body systems on a

cellular level.  Without functional

RNA polymerase, the body cannot

produce mRNA, thereby rendering

the body unable to create the

template required to generate new

DNA.  In turn, unable to

maintain themselves, systems

begin to fail.  As old cells weaken

and die,with no new ones being

generated to replace them, the

body quickly sickens and dies.

References

Amanita Phalloides. 11-6-2010.  Retrieved from

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Amanita_phalloides

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. janice
    Mar 13, 2014 @ 14:32:16

    Thank you so much, this helped me for my paper!

    Reply

  2. Andree Ray
    Oct 14, 2013 @ 03:18:36

    Thanks for sharing all the posts and your research. Very helpful and interesting. I needed this refreshing view!

    Reply

  3. Rachel Rossiter Trabelsi
    May 24, 2012 @ 14:51:57

    Thank you Autoimmunemaven helps me with my biochemistry project understanding this (now I have to create a model) and love your name too!!!!

    Reply

    • Autoimmune Maven
      May 25, 2012 @ 10:18:45

      Make sure you read the comments left by one of the instructors. I don’t want you to be penalized for a difference in wording. Thank you for reading & stopping by—& good luck in school!

      Reply

  4. S Miller
    Oct 11, 2011 @ 20:14:46

    “Without functional RNA polymerase, the body cannot produce mRNA, thereby rendering the body unable to create the template required to generate new DNA.” This is incorrect. If the body cannot produce mRNA, then the body does not have the template required to generate new PROTEIN. Please revise, as my students are citing your site and it is forcing them to get marked off.

    Reply

  5. phylor
    Nov 28, 2010 @ 17:51:09

    There are only two mushrooms that I would pick and eat: morrells and puffballs because, as far as I know, no other mushroom looks like brains (former) and giant cotton balls (latter). I’m no mushroom expert, so I wouldn’t trust myself with anything else! Haven’t not picked mushrooms in years, so even leary about these two!

    Reply

  6. Dominique
    Nov 27, 2010 @ 10:36:14

    Thanks for this. I take a lot of mushroom supplements so I like to keep on top of this (and I do). Mushrooms can become very tricky if you do not know what you are doing or if you do not shop through an organization that backs up their products with research and studies.

    Reply

    • autoimmunemaven
      Nov 28, 2010 @ 18:58:26

      Hi! I think about it when I order supplements as well. The info. I posted was for my Biochemisry class. It was such a pain in my ass researching it, I had to post it someplace else!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Worth repeating–I LOVE the Graphics Fairy!

The Graphics Fairy

Flickr Photos

British Enlightenment

Tuscan Landscape

USA // California // Humboldt Redwoods State Park // Avenue of the Giants

More Photos
Get your own free Blogoversary button!
Blinkie

Erica’s Running Journey

Erica’s Running Journey
Blinkie
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 36 other followers

